
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Enjoy Prom and Graduation season… 
DON’T BECOME A STATISTIC!!! 

 
 
 
 
 

ANDREW C. CAREY 
PROSECUTOR OF MIDDLESEX COUNTY 

 
 



 
THE LAW* 

 
DEFINITION OF IMPAIRMENT 

 

In New Jersey, a person is guilty of drunk driving if he/she operates a motor vehicle with 
a Blood Alcohol Concentration of 0.08% or higher. BAC refers to the amount of alcohol 
in your blood. Even though the law states that at a .08% BAC, you can be convicted of 
driving under the influence of intoxicating liquor, the law also states that you can be 
convicted of driving under the influence even if your BAC is less than .08%. 
Consuming even small amounts of alcohol dulls the senses, increases duration of reaction 
time, and hampers judgment, vision and alertness. If you consume ANY amount of 
alcohol and your driving is negatively impacted, you can be convicted of drunk driving. It 
is a violation to operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of a narcotic, 
hallucinogenic or habit producing drug. In addition, it is also illegal to allow another 
person to operate a motor vehicle when that person does so in violation of the Driving 
While Intoxicated (DWI) law.  
 
 

THE PENALTIES* 
 

FIRST OFFENSE 
 

Under New Jersey Law (N.J.S.A 39:4-50), if an offender’s BAC is .08% or greater, but 
less than .10% or if an offender permits another person with a BAC over .08% but less 
than .10% to operate a motor vehicle, the penalties are:  

1. Fine of $250-400 
2. Imprisonment for up to 30 days 
3. 3-month license suspension 
4. A minimum of six hours a day for two consecutive days in an Intoxicated Driver 

Resource Center 
5. An automobile insurance surcharge of $1000 a year for three years 

If the offender’s BAC is .10% or higher, or the person operates a motor vehicle while 
under the influence of a narcotic, hallucinogenic or habit-producing drug or permits 
another person with a BAC of .10% to operate a motor vehicle, the penalties are:  

1. A fine of $300-500 
2. Imprisonment for up to 30 days 
3. License suspension between 7 months and 1 year 
4. A minimum of six hours a day for two days in an Intoxicated Driver Resource 

Center 
5. Automobile insurance surcharge of $1000 a year for 3 years 
 

Offenders with a BAC of .15% or greater must install an ignition interlock device in any 
vehicle they operate during the license suspension period and for a period of up to 1 year 
after the license is restored.  
 



 
SECOND OFFENSE 

 
1. Fine of $500-$1000 
2. Imprisonment of at least 48 consecutive hours and up to 90 days 
3. 2 year license suspension  
4. A minimum of six hours a day for two consecutive days in an Intoxicated Driver 

Resource Center 
5. Automobile insurance surcharge of $1000 a year for 3 years 
6. Installation of an ignition interlock device for 1-3 years after license restoration. 
 

THIRD OFFENSE 
 

1. Fine of $1000 
2. Imprisonment of 180 days 
3. 10 year license suspension  
4. Detainment in an impatient alcoholism treatment program 
5. Fees to be paid to the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center 
6. Automobile insurance surcharge of $1500 a year for 3 years 
7. Installation of an ignition interlock device for 1-3 years after license restoration. 

 
ADDITIONAL PENALTIES* 

 
1. $100 surcharge to be deposited in the Drunk Drivers Enforcement Fund 
2. Motor Vehicle Commission restoration fee of $100 and an Intoxicated Driving 

Program fee of $100 
3. A Violent Crimes Compensation Fund fee of $50 
4. A Safe and Secure Community Program fee of $75 
 

*Source: New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission & Division of Highway Safety 
www.njsaferoads.com 

1-800-422-3750 
 
 

REGISTRATION REVOCATION/IGNITION INTERLOCK* 
 
In addition to these penalties, judges may order the revocation of the vehicle registration 
(N.J.S.A. 39:4-50).  
 
The interlock device, which measures the driver’s blood alcohol level, may be required 
for up to 3 years following license restoration after a DWI conviction. Any person may 
start a motor vehicle equipped with an interlock device for safety reasons or to repair the 
device or motor vehicle, but the convicted offender may not operate the vehicle. A 
person who blows into an interlock device to start a motor vehicle for the convicted 
offender or tampers with the device to evade its operation may be charged with a 
disorderly persons offense.  
 

http://www.njsaferoads.com/


 
DRIVING WITH A MINOR* 

 
A parent or guardian who is convicted of driving while intoxicated and had a passenger 
in the motor vehicle 17 years of age or younger, is also guilty of a disorderly persons 
offense. In addition, a person forfeits the right to operate a motor vehicle for a maximum 
of six months and must perform community service for up to five days.  
 

POSSESSING AN OPEN CONTAINER  
IN THE PASSENGER COMPARTMENT* 

 
1. First Offense - $200 
2. Second Offense - $250 or 10 days of community service  

 
DRIVING WITH A SUSPENDED LICENSE DUE TO DWI 

 
1. A fine of $500 
2. 10-90 days imprisonment 
3. 1 to 2 years additional license suspension 
4. Revocation of motor vehicle registration 
5. If you are involved in a crash while driving with a suspended license and someone 

is injured, there is a mandatory 45 day jail sentence.  
 

CONSEQUENCES OF UNDERAGE DRINKING AND DRIVING* 
 
In the United States, you MUST be at least 21 years old to purchase, possess or consume 
alcoholic beverages. Underage driving is ILLEGAL and can have severe consequences 
for young people who drink and for the adults who supply alcoholic beverages to those 
under 21.  
 
If you are under 21 and buy or drink alcohol in a place with an alcohol beverage license, 
you may be fined $500 and lose your driver license for 6 months.  If you do not have 
your driver license, the suspension starts when you are first eligible to receive a license.  
Also you may be required to participate in an alcohol education or treatment program.  
 
If you are under 21 and drive with any detectable amount of alcohol in your system, (.01 
BAC or above) and are convicted for violating New Jersey’s Zero Tolerance Law, the 
penalties are: 
 

1. Loss or postponement of license for 30 to 90 days 
2. 15-30 days of community service 
3. Participation in an alcohol and traffic safety education program 

 
 
 
 



 
 http://pubs.niaaa.nih.gov/publications/niaaa-guide/#appendixb  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

http://pubs.niaaa.nih.gov/publications/niaaa-guide/%23appendixb


 
EFFECTS OF DRIVING WHILE UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF 

MARIJUANA**  
 
Data from road traffic arrests and fatalities indicate that after alcohol, marijuana is the 
most frequently detected psychoactive substance among driving populations. Marijuana 
has been shown to impair performance for up to approximately 3 hours.  
 
The greater the demands placed on the driver, the more critical the likely impairment. 
Marijuana may particularly impair monotonous and prolonged driving. Decision times to 
evaluate situations and determine appropriate responses increase. Mixing alcohol and 
marijuana may dramatically produce effects greater than either drug on its own. 
 
Effects include: decreased car handling performance, increased reaction times, 
impaired time and distance estimation, inability to maintain headway, lateral travel, 
subjective sleepiness, motor in-coordination, and impaired sustained vigilance. 
 

EFFECTS OF DRIVING WHILE UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF 
MDMA/ECSTASY** 

 
MDMA also known as ecstasy is the derivative of methamphetamine. MDMA is 
recreationally used as a party, rave or dance drug for its stimulant, mild hallucinogenic, 
and psychoactive properties.  
 
MDMA can enhance impulsivity and make it difficult for a person to maintain attention 
during complex tasks (selective attention, divided and sustained attention, and complex 
attention tasks). Laboratory studies have demonstrated changes in cognitive, perception 
and mental associations, instability, uncoordinated gait, and poor memory recall.  
 
Effects include: distortion of perception, thinking, and memory, impaired tracking 
ability, disorientation to time and place, and slow reactions. 
 

EFFECTS OF DRIVING WHILE UNDER THE INFLUENCE OF 
COCAINE** 

 
Cocaine hydrochloride also known as coke or blow is a white to light brown crystalline 
powder, shiny rather than dull in appearance.  
 
Observed signs of impairment in driving performance have included subjects speeding, 
losing control of their vehicle, causing collisions, turning in front of other vehicles, high-
risk behavior, inattentive driving, and poor impulse control. As the effects of cocaine 
wear off subjects may suffer from fatigue, depression, sleepiness, and inattention.  
 

**Source: National Highway Safety Administration  
http://www.nhtsa.gov/ 

 

http://www.nhtsa.gov/


FATAL CRASH INVESTIGATION AND PROSECUTION UNIT 
 
 
     Over 25 years ago, the Middlesex County Prosecutor’s Office established a Fatal 
Crash Investigation Unit. Throughout those years, we have developed and maintained a 
reputation of aggressive prosecution for those drivers responsible for recklessly causing 
serious and fatal crashes. Nearly all of our prosecutions have led to significant jail terms, 
even for first offenders.  It is not uncommon for a first offender to receive a minimum of 
three years in state prison for injuring another while under the influence of drugs or 
alcohol. For causing the death of another, first offenders have received up to eighteen 
years in prison.  For these violations, the No Early Release Act (NERA) applies, meaning 
a defendant must remain in custody for 85% of their sentence before being eligible for 
parole.  Below is a brief summary of the most common statutes, a brief explanation and 
the penalties associated with causing a crash and/or injury to another while driving under 
the influence of drugs or alcohol. 
 
Aggravated manslaughter N.J.S.A. 2C:11-4 
If you operate a vehicle while intoxicated and drive recklessly under circumstances 
manifesting an extreme indifference to human life, you could be charged with the first 
degree crime of aggravated manslaughter.  Even with no prior record, you could go to jail 
for 10 to 30 years and pay fines up to $200,000.00.    
 
Vehicular homicide N.J.S.A. 2C:11-5 
If you drive under the influence of drugs or alcohol and cause someone’s death, you 
could be charged with vehicular homicide, a second degree charge carrying a prison term 
up to 10 years with a minimum sentence of 3 years.   
 
Aggravated assault N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1b. 
If you drive recklessly under circumstances manifesting an extreme indifference to 
human life and cause serious bodily injury, you could face a second degree criminal 
charge of aggravated assault, which carries 5 to 10 years of imprisonment, up to 
$150,000.00 in fines, and loss of license.    
 
Assault by auto N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1c. 
Assault by auto is a crime of the third degree if the person drives a vehicle intoxicated 
and causes serious bodily injury. Penalties include up to 5 years in state prison and a 
$150,000.00 fine. It is a crime of the fourth degree if the person drives a vehicle while 
intoxicated and bodily injury results. 
 
CDS in a motor vehicle N.J.S.A. 39:4-49.1 
Just having drugs or alcohol in your vehicle could result in jail time, serious fines and 
shall forthwith forfeit his right to operate a motor vehicle for a period of two years from 
the date of his conviction. 
 
 



Open alcoholic container in a motor vehicle N.J.S.A. 39:4-51a 
A person shall be presumed to have consumed an alcoholic beverage if an unsealed 
container of an alcoholic beverage is located in the passenger compartment of the motor 
vehicle, the contents of the alcoholic beverage have been partially consumed and the 
physical appearance or conduct of the operator of the motor vehicle or a passenger may 
be associated with the consumption of an alcoholic beverage. First offense carries a fine 
of $200.00. A second offense carries a $250.00 fine or 10 days of community service. 
  

PENALTIES FOR PARENTS AND ADULTS SERVING ALCOHOL 
TO UNDERAGE PERSONS 

 
Offering Alcoholic Beverage to Underage Person N.J.S.A. 2C:33-17a 
Anyone who purposely or knowingly offers, serves, or makes available an alcoholic 
beverage to a person under the legal drinking age, with certain exceptions for family 
members and religious ceremonies, is subject to a fine of up to $1,000 and up to 180 days 
in jail. 
 
Endangering the Welfare of Children N.J.S.A. 2C:24-4 
Anyone who provides alcoholic beverages to an underage person can be charged with 
Endangering the Welfare of Children (often in cases where the underage person harms 
him or herself or another person as a result of the consumption of alcohol), and be subject 
to a fine up to $7,500 and up to five years in state prison.  
 
Making Residence Available for Underage Drinking N.J.S.A. 2C:33-17b 
Anyone who makes a home, apartment, building or other space available se that alcoholic 
beverages may be served to anyone under 21 years of age is subject to a fine of $1,000 
and up to 180 days in jail.  
 
Selling Alcoholic Beverage to Underage Person N.J.S.A. 33:1-77 
If you sell an alcoholic beverage to a person under the legal age, or if you purchase an 
alcoholic beverage for an underage person you may be charged a disorderly persons 
offense subjecting you to six months in jail and a $1,000 fine.  
 
     For most of our high school age children, this time of year produces some of the most 
everlasting memories. The Prom is a celebration with dear friends that your child has met 
and bonded with over the years. Graduation is the joyous occasion of completing high 
school and commencing the next stage of a young person’s life. The Middlesex County 
Prosecutor’s Office wants you to: 
 

ENJOY PROM AND GRADUATION SEASON… 
DON’T BECOME A STATISTIC!!! 
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