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WILL REGISTRY

As directed by the Legislature (N.J.S.A. 3.B:3-2.1(d), effective September
2005), the Office of the Secretary of State maintains a Will Registry wherein
a testator, (the person making the will) or his/her attorney, may register with
the Will Registry Program which contains basic information about the will.
Registration is entirely voluntary and electing not to register with the
Office of the Secretary of State does not have any effect on the validity of
the wiill.

The fee to file a Will Registry Form is $10.00.

The fee for retrieval of a Will Registry Form is $10.00.
Please send a check or money order made payable to:
"The State of New Jersey"
and send to:

The Office of the Secretary of State
PO Box 300
Trenton, NJ 08625 - 0300

To promote privacy, only "interested persons" as defined in N.J.S.A.
3.B:3-2.1(d), or their representatives, may search the Will Registry and only
executors or fiduciaries will be given the location of the will.

N.J.S.A. 3.B:3-2.1(d) - interested persons means children, spouses,
potential heirs, devisees, fiduciaries, creditors, beneficiaries and any others
having a property right in or claim against a trust estate or the estate of a
descendent which may be affected by the proceeding.

https://nj.gov/state/dos-will-registry.shtml

DIRECTIONS TO MIDDLESEX COUNTY
ADMINISTRATION BUILDING

FROM THE NEW JERSEY TURNPIKE

Take Exit 9 to Route 18 North - New Brunswick. Continue on Route 18 North
to New Street Exit. Once on New Street, make first right at light onto Neilson
Street. Make a left on Bayard Street. The Middlesex County Administration
Building will be on the third block on the right-hand side.

FROM THE GARDEN STATE PARKWAY

NORTH- Take Parkway South to the New Jersey Turnpike South Exit 129.
Proceed to New Brunswick, Exit 9, same as you would from the Turnpike.

SOUTH- Take Parkway North to Exit 105. Follow signs to Route 18 North.
Proceed to New Brunswick as you would from the Turnpike.

FROM ROUTE 1

Turn at Route 18 North - New Brunswick, proceed as you would from the
Turnpike.

FROM ROUTE 287

Take New Brunswick Exit10 (Route 527). Thisbecomes Easton Avenue. Follow
Easton Avenue all the way to New Brunswick. Atthe end of Easton Avenue
(train station on left), make a left onto Albany Street (Route 27). Make a right
onto Spring Alley. At the third stop sign make a right onto Bayard Street.
The Middlesex County Administration Building will be on the right-hand side.

FROM ROUTE 27

NORTH- into New Brunswick underneath train tracks after the light make a
right onto Spring Alley. Atthe third stop sign make a right onto Bayard Street.
The Middlesex County Administration Building will be on the right-hand side.

SOUTH-over Highland Park Bridge into New Brunswick. Atsecond light make
a left onto Neilson Street. Make a right onto Bayard Street. The Middlesex
County Administration Building will be on the right-hand side.



GLOSSARY

ADMINISTRATOR - (also known as Personal Representative) Person
appointed by the court to manage and distribute the estate of a person who
dies without a Will.

BENEFICIARY - Person named to receive property or benefits.
BEQUEATH - Gift of personal property by Will.

CODICIL - An addition or supplement made to delete or add provisions of
a Will.

DECEDENT - A deceased person
DEVISE - Gift of real estate by Will.
ESTATE - Everything a person owns, all real and personal property.

EXECUTOR- (also known as Personal Representative)- A person orinstitution
named in the Will to carry out the provisions and directions of the Will.

INTESTATE - When a person dies without a valid Will.

PERSONAL PROPERTY - Intangible property; such as stocks, bonds, or
bank accounts; and tangible property such as furniture, automobile, jewelry.

PROBATE - Official proof of the validity of a Will.

REAL PROPERTY - Land and buildings

TENANTS IN COMMON - Two or more persons owning individual interests
in property.

TESTATOR - The person who makes a Will.

TRUST - Property owned and managed by one person for the benefit of
another

TRUSTEE - Person or institution holding property in trust.

WILL - A legal declaration of the manner in which a person wishes his estate
divided after death.

WITNESS - Person who observes the signing of a Will and also attests to
the signatures.
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Claribel Cortes

Surrogate
75 Bayard Street - First Floor
New Brunswick, NJ 08901
732-745-3055

FAX; 732-745-4125
www.middlesexcountynj.gov/surrogate

E-mail: surrogate@co.middlesex.nj.us

This booklet is prepared by the Middlesex County Surrogate’s Office
and is available to all county residents. This booklet contains information
about the importance of having a will and outlines the meaning of “Probate”
and the action necessary to complete probate.

The booklet will also explain what happens to an estate when one dies
without a will or “Intestate Succession” as well as Federal and State taxes.

Visit http://www.middlesexcountynj.gov/surrogate for information
about our office If our office can be of any help to you, if you have a
question, or if you wish to arrange a date to have the Surrogate speak to
your club or organization, contact our office at 732-745-3055.

LETTER OF LAST INSTRUCTIONS

Those who administer an estate and take care of what is left often find
themselves without necessaryinformation. To facilitate theirjob, itis advisable
to give your executor, executrix, personal representative or attorney a letter
of last instructions - which is separate and apart from your Will. This letter,
to be opened upon your death, should contain the following:

- Namesandaddresses ofthose to be notified atdeath, andrelationship
of members of family and relatives.

- Statement as to where your Will may be found.

- Instructions as to funeral and burial. You may Wish to specify, for
example, that, as a Veteran you want to be buried in a national
cemetery.

- Where your birth or baptismal certificate, certificate of auto
ownership, social security card, marriage or divorce certificate,
naturalization and citizenship papers, and discharge papers from
the armed forces may be found.

- Where your membership certificates in any lodge or fraternal
organizations which provides death or cemetery benefits may be
found.

- Location of any safe deposit boxes you may have, and where keys
are kept. A list of your insurance policies and where they may be
found.

- Alist of all bank accounts, checking and saving; their location and
where the passbooks are kept.

- A list of all other savings accounts; for example, credit union
deposits, etc., and passbook locations.

- A statement concerning any trusts and/or pension systems from
which your estate may be entitled to receive benefits.

- A list of all stocks and bonds or other securities you own, and
where they may be found.

- A statement of all real property owned by you with the location
of deeds, mortgages, abstracts, and insurance policies for real
property owned.

- Alocation of copies of income tax returns for previous 5 years.

- Receipted bills and cancelled checks for last 5 years.

- List of debts and names of creditors - with addresses.

- A statement of reasons for actions taken in your Will, such as
disinheritances. It is usually better to place the explanation in a
separate but accompanying letter, rather than in your Will, to avoid
a complicated will and expensive litigation.

- List of any gifts made and information needed for estate tax.

- Alist of any payments made, especially for funeral expenses.
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UNIFIED ESTATE AND GIFT TAX CREDIT

The Tax Relief Act of 2017 provided that each person can leave a
$11180,000 estate tax free.

FEDERAL ESTATE & GIFT TAX

-Contemplation of Death-

Gifts made withinthree years of death are notincludable in donor’s gross
estate; exceptions are life insurance, transfers with a retained life estate,
transfers and transfers under powers of appointment; gifts made within
three years of death are included in gross estate to determine qualification
for current use evaluation, deferred payment of estate tax and Section 303
redemptions, etc.

GIFT TAX
(Annual Exclusion)

Any gift made within 3 years of death is presumed to be in anticipation of
death and may be subject to New Jersey Inheritance Tax.

An individual may give an amount up to $14,000 to any one person
during a calendar year, exempt from tax. A married couple can give up to
$28,000 to a person yearly without tax. Any number of tax-free gifts may
be made during a year.

If you make gifts to one person of more than $14,000 during the calendar
year, file a Federal Gift Tax Return with the District Director of Internal Revenue.

FEDERAL MARITAL DEDUCTIONS

Presently, unlimited amounts of property can be transferred between
spouses without estate or gift tax.

Note: Certain transfers of an interest in property do not apply under
this deduction. To determine whether this last note applies to your particular
case, you may want to contact your attorney or the Internal Revenue Service.

FILING FEDERAL ESTATE TAX RETURNS

The nearest Internal Revenue office will furnish tax Form 706.
If your estate is subject to Federal Estate Tax, you may want to seek

professional assistance in estate planning. Consideration of tax aspects can
save heirs money.
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SURROGATE

The surrogate who sits in the court in your county is using authorities
which trace back to the Archbishop of London and beyond into the Roman
Empire and the Bible. As long as there have been Wills, and orphans, and
incompetents, there have beenjudicial officers to probate the wills, to appoint
guardians for minors and incompetents and to supervise the handling of their
affairs. The word "Surrogate" means one who takes the place of another.

In New Jersey, the person who passes on the validity of a will, gives the
executor proof of his authority to administer the estate and sees to it that the
executor handles the estate properly, is called the Surrogate. Each county
has a Surrogate’s Court and the Surrogate is the Judge of that court. The
Surrogate is elected for a term of five years, pursuant to the Constitution of
New Jersey.

The Surrogate administers a court which is almost certain to touch the
lives of every person in the county at some time. Aside from the
appointment of a guardian for a minor who comes into an estate, or the
supervision and preparation of adoptions, or incompetency hearings, it is
common, after death, to visit the Surrogate’s Court for the appointment of
someone to handle the estate of the deceased.

FUNCTIONS OF SURROGATE’S OFFICE

- Probate Wills

- Process adoptions

- Process contested probate matters

- Process alleged incompetents

- Film and record all probate proceedings
- Invest minors’ funds

- Appoint guardians of minors

WILLS
WHY EVERYONE SHOULD MAKE ONE

Everyone owns something and therefore is an owner of property - real
or personal - and has an estate. REAL PROPERTY is land and buildings.
Everything else that may be owned is called PERSONAL PROPERTY, such as
bank accounts, stocks, bonds, furniture, automobiles, money, life insurance,
jewelry, and personal effects.

Itisthe owner’s privilege to selectto whom his/her estate will go. You may
choose one of several ways to dispose of your estate - by a Will, by creating
a trust or joint ownership, or by letting the law distribute your property.



This informational booklet is meant to familiarize you with your rights
and to point out necessary steps to be taken to transfer property to your
heirs. It is not a substitute for sound advice.

YOUR WILL

Making aWillisanimportant stepin yourfinancial management program.
To save your heirs time and money, you can plan now for the orderly transfer
of your property.

Making a Will will avoid the cost of a bond and possible disagreement
among those who are to receive your property. You decide to whom, when,
and in what amounts your assets should go. You select your executor or
personal representative, the one who shall be responsible for the disposition
of the estate. You may avoid a forced sale of your property, or costly and
tedious applications to the courts for the right to sell it. You have greater
assurance that your plans will be carried out as you desire.

Without a Will your estate must be distributed according to the intestate
laws, the provisions of which are general and inflexible. The law will say who
shall administer your estate, among whom, and how it shall be divided. Ifyou
do not name an executor or personal representative, your property may not
be distributed as you wish, and thus cause hardship for those you want to
safeguard most. Without a Will you lose the privilege of naming a guardian
for your minor children. This is vital, particularly if your spouse should not
survive you. If you leave no immediate family, failure to leave a Will may
result in your property going to persons in whom you have no particular
interest.

STEPS IN PREPARING A WILL

A document that will stand up in court, and tailormade to meet the
needs of your family, must be thought out carefully by you. The Will can be
prepared by an attorney who specializes in Will drafting or estate planning.
The attorney can guide you to the best decisions - but only after obtaining
all the facts that you alone can give. Thus, you can be sure that your Will is
properly phrased, witnessed, and has all the technicalities observed.

THINGS TO KNOW WHEN MAKING A WILL

1. You don’t need to make an itemized statement of your assets, nor
do you need to state the disposition of your property item by item.

2. You can change your Will at anytime you wish, as your assets,
beneficiaries or desires change.

3. Your Willis not recorded before death; no one need know of it if that

is your wish.
y 3.

REAL PROPERTY

Unpaid inheritance taxes constitute a lien on real property and tax waivers
are required to transfer real estate. However, real property held by husband
and wife as “tenants by the entirety” (names of both husband and wife appear
on the deed) in the estate of the spouse first dying need not be reported and
may be transferred without waiver, regardless of the date of death.

In addition, a membership certificate or stock in a cooperative housing
corporation held in the name of a decedent and a surviving spouse as joint
tenants with right of survivorship is also exempt, but a waiver is required for
this transfer.

AUTOMOBILES, HOUSEHOLD AND
PERSONAL EFFECTS

Waivers are not required for automobiles, household goods, accrued
wages or mortgages, but these must be reported in the return.

FORMS, INSTRUCTIONS

Necessaryforms andinstructions concerning the procedureto be followed
in completing an inheritance tax return may be obtained at the Division of
Taxation Regional Office. There is one office where residents of Middlesex
County can obtain these forms. The address of the office is:

NJ Division of Taxation
Inheritance Tax
P.O. Box 249
Trenton, NJ 08695-0249
609-292-5033

FEDERAL ESTATE TAX RETURN

The law requires that a copy of the Federal estate tax return be filed
with the Inheritance Tax Branch within 30 days after the filing of the original
with the Federal government. Also, the Branch must receive a copy of any
communication from the Federal government making any final change in
the return, or confirming, increasing or reducing the tax shown to be due.
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EXCEPTIONS

Not withstanding the waiver provisions above, any financial institution
may release up to 50% of any bank account, certificate of deposit, etc. to the
survivor, in the case of a joint account, the executor, administrator or other
legal representative of a RESIDENT decedent’s estate. This procedure is
referred to as a BLANKET WAIVER. This procedure is not available for the
transfer of stocks and bonds. For a detailed explanation see N.J.A.C 18:26-
I16.

A SELF EXECUTING WAIVER, FORM L-8 has been created for Class “A”
beneficiaries in the estates of RESIDENT decedents. This form may be used
in two instances:

1. Transfers to a surviving spouse in estates of decedents dying on or
after January 1, 1985.

2. Transfers to a surviving spouse or any other Class “A” beneficiary in
estates of decedents dying on or after July 1, 1988.

Use of this form MAY eliminate the need to file a formal Inheritance Tax return.

This form is to be filed with the financial institution which will then be
authorized to release the subject asset without the necessity of receiving
a waiver from the Division.

A REQUEST FOR A REAL PROPERTY TAX WAIVER, FORM L-9, has been
created for Class “A” beneficiaries in the estates of RESIDENT decedents.
This form may be used in two instances:

1. Transfers to a surviving spouse in estates of decedents dying on or
after January 1, 1985 and the decedent’s interest was in the decedent’s
name alone.

2. Transfers to a surviving spouse or any other Class "A" beneficiary in
estates of decedents dying on or after July 1, 1988 and the decedent’s
interest in the real estate was in the name of the decedent alone or with
any Class “A” beneficiary.

Use of this form MAY eliminate the need to file a formal Inheritance Tax
return.

This form is to be filed directly with the Transfer Inheritance Tax Branch.
If the form is in order the necessary waiver/waivers will be promptly issued.

NEITHER THE L-8 NOR THE L-9 may be used where it is claimed that
a relationship of mutually acknowledged child exists or for the release of a

safe deposit box.
PARTIAL RELEASE OF FUNDS

Banks, savings andloan associations, and building and loan associations
may release 50% of all funds on deposit with them to the proper party prior
to the issuing of a waiver. The full amount on deposit as of the date of death
of the decedent must be listed in the inheritance tax return.
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4. The existence of the Will does not affect your ability to sell or dispose
of property. You may continue as though you had not written the
document.

5. Whilethelaw permits a beneficiary to witness a Will, itisrecommended
that a beneficiary witness be used only when a disinterested party
is not available, in order to avoid future challenges as to conflict.

Start by making a list of everything you own and owe - a statement
that will show exactly where you stand financially. Decide to whom you will
leave your real and personal property. Be certain you have stated just what
your wishes are by making a list of the persons involved, their relationship
to you, your objectives, when their bequest is to be given, and how it is to
be provided.

NOTE: You may make bequests to friends or charities. It is not mandatory
for you to make bequests only to family members.

Select an executor, executrix, or personal representative to administer
the Will. This may be a beneficiary of your estate, a member of the family,
your legal or financial advisor, a trusted friend or business associate. You
should name a contingent executor or personal representative to actin case
your first selection dies before you, or is unable to serve.

A bank can act as an executor, personal representative, trustee under
a trust, or guardian of either a minor or incompetent person. A bank is
experienced and familiar with accounting and management details. It is
financially responsible and a continuing institution - an individual may die,
but a bank has continued life.

In selecting your executor or personal representative and trustee, the
choice should be business like, not sentimental. Your executor or personal
representative has the important responsibility of settling your estate and
seeing that the wishes expressed are faithfully carried out.

Here are a few of the things an executor or personal representative may
be required to do, in addition to seeing that the Will is offered for probate:

1. Qualify as executor, (also known as Personal Representative),
obtain a certificate of authority, and if necessary, execute a bond.

2. Locate and take possession of all property, discover and assert
all rights and line up claims owed by the estate.

3. Prepare and file an inventory of all property and interest of any
kind belonging to the estate, listing the appraised value.

4. Review all assets, liquidating those of doubtful character.
5. Advertise for claims and pay them in the order cited by law.

6. Collect monies due the estate.



Figure and pay taxes.
8. Pay legacies under the Will.
9. Distribute the estate.

10. Make final accounting to the court, if required by the court.

It is important that you name a guardian if you have minor children.

If you consult an attorney, ask for a rough draft of your Will and study it
carefully before signing the final copy.

SIGNING YOUR WILL

A Will must be written, signed by the testator (maker) and witnessed.
The original copy is the legal document and must be signed.

In New Jersey, a Will, to be admitted to probate at the Surrogate’s
Court, must have at least two witnesses. The testator and the witnesses are
required to be present at the signing, and each must see the others sign.
The witnesses do not have to read it or know what it contains. However,
they must be told by the testator that it is his/her Will, and asked to sign as
witnesses.

The witnesses should be likely to outlive the testator and remain in the
community. If you do not have a self-proven Will, the whereabouts of your
witnesses should be known at all times.

SELF-PROVEN WILLS
If the witnesses and the testator execute an affidavit before a Notary
Public, it will not be necessary for either of the witnesses to appear in
Surrogate Court at the time of Probate. Your attorney can review your Will
and advise you as to whether it can be made self-proven and prepare the
proper Affidavit to comply with the law.

COMMON DISASTER CLAUSE
A well-drawn Will contains a common disaster clause to establish
contingent beneficiaries if both husband and wife die within a stated period
of time. Without such a clause, if both husband and wife die with no way to
determine who died first, their individual property is disposed of as if they
had died a widow and widower.

SAFEKEEPING YOUR WILL
Keep your Will in a safe place, but let the executor know where it can
be found. If kept in a safe deposit box, it usually can be removed by the
executor in the presence of an employee of the bank immediately after
death. Husband and wife should have their own wills. They each should
know where both are kept.

- Life insurance proceeds to a named beneficiary

- Charitable transfers for the use of any educational institution,
church, hospital, orphan asylum, public library, etc.

- Transfers for public purposes made to New Jersey or any
political subdivision of the State.

- Payments from the New Jersey Public Employees' Retirement
System, the New Jersey Teachers' Pension and Annuity Fund
and the New Jersey Police and Fireman's Retirement System.

- Federal civil service retirement benefits payable to a beneficiary
other than the estate.

- Annuities payable to survivors of military retirees.

WHEN TAXES ARE DUE

An inheritance tax return must be filed on the transfer of real or personal
property within 8 months after the death of either:

- A resident decedent for the transfer of real or tangible personal
property located in New Jersey or intangible personal property
wherever situated, or

- A nonresident decedent for the transfer of real or tangible personal
propertylocatedin New Jersey. Notaxisimposed onnonresident
decedents for intangible personal property where-ever located.

- Ataxreturn must be filed whenever any tax is due. The tax is a
lien on all property for 15 years, unless paid sooner or secured
by acceptable bond.Interest on unpaid tax will accrue at the rate
of 10% a year.

AMENDMENTS TO THE ORIGINAL RETURN

In the case of both resident and non-resident estates, any assets and/
or liabilities not disclosed in the original return and all supplemental data
requested by the Transfer Inheritance Tax Branchis to be accompanied by an
affidavit form and attested to by the duly authorized statutory representative
ofthe estate, next of kin, or beneficiary certifying in detail a description of the
reasons for failure to disclose same in the original return and filed directly
with the Transfer Inheritance Tax Branch.

WAIVERS
Certain property in the name of or belonging to the decedent cannot be
transferred without the written consent of the Director, Division of Taxation.
This consent, commonly known as the “waiver”, will not be granted until any
tax due has been paid or provided.

_14_



INHERITANCE TAXES IN NEW JERSEY RATES

Currently, the law imposes a graduated inheritance or succession tax
ranging from 11% to 16% on the real or personal property with a value of
$500.00 or more to certain beneficiaries.

BENEFICIARY CLASSES

Inheritance tax law recognizes five beneficiary classes ranging from "A"
to "E" as follows:

Class "A" - father, mother, grandparents, husband, wife, child or children
of a decedent, adopted child or children, issue of any child or legally
adopted child of a decedent, mutually acknowledged child and step child.

Class "B" - Eliminated by statute effective July 1, 1963.

Class "C" - Brother or sister of decedent, wife or widow of a son of
decedent, or husband or widower of a daughter.
Class "D" - Every other transferee, distributee or beneficiary.

Class "E" - Includes transfers for public or charitable purposes to the
State of New Jersey or any of its political subdivisions, an educational
institution, church, hospital, orphan asylum, public library, and certain
other nonprofit agencies, etc.

In estates of decedents dying on or after July 1, 1988, only beneficiaries
in Classes "C" and "D" are subject to inheritance tax.

TAX RATES

Each class of beneficiaries has its own separate rate schedule.
Class "A" - all Class "A" beneficiaries are totally exempt from tax.
Class "B" - was eliminated by P.L. 1962, c. 61.
Class "C" - were granted a $25,000 exemption on estates of decedents.
After the initial $25,000 exemption, the rates range from 11% on the next
$1,075,000 to 16% for any transfer over $1,700.000.
Class "D" - the law imposes a tax on the transfer of property with a value
of $500.00 or more. The rates range from 15% on the first $700,000 to
16% for amounts over $700,000.

EXEMPTIONS

In addition to the exemptions listed under "Tax Rates", no tax is imposed on:

- Transfers under $500.00
- 13 -

KEEPING YOUR WILL UP TO DATE
Periodically review your Will to keep it up to date. Keeping it current is
just as important as making one in the first place. Changes in your life such
as marriage, birth of a child, death, change of witnesses, purchase or sale
of property, a change in your financial status - or a change in the estate tax
law may make important revisions or a new Will advisable.

AWilldrawnin another state can be valid; however, revisionin relationto New
Jersey laws may be prudent. You are free to change your Will at any time.

HOW TO CHANGE YOUR WILL
The safe way to change your Will is to have a new one drawn; however
a codicil may be effective.

A codicil is a separate document used to make minor changes. It must
be signed with the same formality as the Will itself. It is not necessary to have
the same withesses on the codicil and the original Will.

Do not try to change your Will by drawing lines through items, erasing,
writing over or adding notations. This may destroy it as a legal document.

"DYING WITHOUT A WILL"
Intestate Succession

When no Will exists, Real and Personal property is not distributed
according to the decedent’s wishes. Rather, it is distributed according to the
statutes of New Jersey.

How will your property be divided if you have no Will? The Chart on
pages 7-8 shows how an Estate is distributed in New Jersey if you do not
leave a Will.

If you die without leaving a Will and are a resident of New Jersey, the
State law provides the manner for distributing your property. Your net estate
remaining after deduction of debts, taxes, family exemptions, etc., would be
distributed under the Statutes governing Decedent’s Estates and, in the case
of most common occurrence, the heirs who would receive such property
are as follows:

Property owned jointly by husband and wife is automatically owned by
the survivor. The following charts show the distribution of separately owned
property. (Effective February 27, 2005)



IF YOU DIE LEAVING:

Survivors (Heirs)

New (2004) UPC

Spouse and parent(s), but no
children

Spouse: the first 25% (but not
less than $50,000 nor more than
$200,000) plus three fourths of
the balance

Parent(s): All other estate assets

Spouse and children of Decedent,
all of whom are also children of
spouse (and spouse has no
children by any other relationship)

Spouse: 100% of estate

Children: nothing

Spouse and children of Decedent,
some of whom are not children of
spouse

Spouse: the first 25% (but not
less than $50,000 nor more than
$200,000) plus one half of the
balance

Children of the Decedent: all
other estate assets

Spouse and children of Decedent,
all of whom are also children of
spouse (and spouse has children
by another relationship)

Spouse: the first 25% (but not
less than $50,000 nor more than
$200,000) plus one half of the
balance

Children of the Decedent: all
other estate assets

Spouse and step-children
(children of spouse who are not
Decedent's children)

Spouse: 100% of estate

Stepchildren: nothing

Children of spouse (stepchildren)
but no descendants, parents,
descendants of parents or
descendants of grandparents

Stepchildren: 100% of estate

Note: Shares of predeceased children passto descendants by representation.
The new rules of intestacy say that the descendants inherit "per capita, by

generation" rather than "per stirpes.”
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LIFE INSURANCE

A life insurance policy is a contract between the policy holder and the
company. The proceeds are paid according to the terms of each contract.

Lifeinsurance should be payable specifically to a designated beneficiary.
A contingent beneficiary or beneficiaries as well as a primary beneficiary
should be named in each policy. A contingent beneficiary is important in
case of simultaneous death of both the policyholder and the beneficiary, or
if the beneficiary dies first. Without a contingent beneficiary, life insurance
passes to the estate and is subject to New Jersey inheritance tax and the
executor’s, Administrator’s or personal representative’s commission.

Although insurance proceeds may be subject to Federal Estate Tax, a
named beneficiary will receive the insurance free from New Jersey Inheritance
Tax or other charges against the estate.

SOCIAL SECURITY

The Social Security Act provides for survivor’s benefits to the family and
otherdependents of eligible persons. Benefits may include monthly payments
and a lump-sum death payment. Benefits are not paid automatically. Upon
the death of a person who has worked under social security,a member of the
family must file application for benefits with the local social security office.

The telephone number for the Social Security Administration is
1-800-772-1213.

VETERANS' BURIAL AND OTHER BENEFITS
FOR DEPENDENTS

For assistance or questions pertaining to burial and other veterans'
benefits available to dependants, call Henry Busby at the Middlesex County
Veteran’s Services Office at 732-745-5918.

TAXABLE ASSETS

All jointly held personal and real property is exempt from the probate
process. But all property, whether jointly or individually held, is taxable
provided that it is not categorically exempted; e.g. (marital residence).

TAXES THAT INFLUENCE YOUR WILL

Three kinds oftaxes caninfluence the provisions of your Will; Inheritance,
estate and gift.

An inheritance by Will, by law, by surviving joint owner, or from life
insurance is not income and is not subject to income tax.
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1. The executor or administrator shall contact the Probation Division
of the Superior Court to arrange for the satisfaction of the child
support judgment.

2. The administrator or executor shall notify the beneficiary of the
intent to satisfy the child support judgment prior to the disbursement
of any funds to the beneficiary.

3. Upon receipt of a warrant of satisfaction for the child support
judgment, the executor or administrator shall pay the balance of the
inheritance to the beneficiary.

4. If the net proceeds are less than the amount of the child support
judgment, the entire amount of the net proceeds shall be paid to
the Probation Division as partial satisfaction of the judgment.

A Note About Private Search Companies:
One is listed in NJ

Signature Information Solutions, LLC
PO Box 18368
Trenton , NJ 08650-0488
Phone: (800) 792-8888

We will update this space as we receive more information.

A TRUST

If there is a question as to the ability of your beneficiaries to manage
money or if you are in a high tax bracket, ask your lawyer or inquire at a bank
about setting up a trust. A trust may be created by an agreement or by your
Will giving property to a third person - trustee - to hold and administer for the
benefit of the person named in the trust. A trust may reduce estate, legal and
administrative expenses. The trustee is entitled to a fee for such service.

JOINT OWNERSHIP

Another way to transfer property is through joint ownership. Real Estate
owned by both husband and wife automatically becomes the sole property
of the survivor.

If two or more persons other than husband or wife own real estate
together, each owns an undivided share as tenants in common, unless the
deed states they are to own "as joint tenants and not as tenants in common."
With exceptions, real estate held in joint ownership goes to the survivor or
survivors when one of the joint owners dies. An interestin real estate owned
by tenants in common passes to the heirs of the deceased.

Personal property may be owned jointly with right of survivorship, the
survivor becomingthe sole owner with certain exceptions. Checking accounts,
saving accounts, or stocks and bonds may be held in joint ownership with
right of survivorship, or as tenants in common.
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More Remote Cases (under this classification are not covered in
this section of the Booklet

However, the State of New Jersey takes your property if you leave no
wife or husband; child or its descendants; parent; brother or sister or their
descendants; grandparent; or uncle or aunt or their children; or their grand-
children or stepchildren.

NOTE: Any person who fails to survive the decedent by 120 hours
is deemed to have predeceased the decedent for purposes of intestate
succession.

APPOINTMENT OF ADMINISTRATOR OR
PERSONAL REPRESENTATIVE

When there is no Will, an administrator, administratrix, or personal
representative is appointed by the Court. Any close relative may be appointed.

For an individual or a bank to be appointed administrator or personal
representative, all other heirs must renounce their rights. In most cases, a
surety bond must be furnished by paying a premium to a surety company
for signing this bond.

The county surrogate, orthe Superior Court, grants letters of administration
showing the authority to act.

PROBATE REQUIREMENTS

- Decedent must be a resident of Middlesex County or if a non-
resident, decedent died intestate seized of real property in this
County

- Certified death certificate

- Original Will or if no Will, immediate next of kin

- Probate fee - personal check, VISA, Discover or MasterCard

APPOINTMENT OF GUARDIAN

A guardian may be appointed by the court for minor children. In order
to sell or dispose of a minor’s interest in a parent’s land, a guardian must be
appointed by the Superior Court to sign the deed for them. The expense
of having the guardian appointed, bond for the guardian, appraisals, court
costs and attorney’s fees are charged to the minor.

In some cases, the guardian applies to the court for permission and
approval to sell and/or to spend the children’s money for their support or
education. The guardian must account for income and disbursements - by
the court action if necessary.



HOW A WILL IS PROBATED

Upon the death of the testator or testatrix, the Will is probated. This is
the legal process which establishes the genuineness of the Will. It is done
by the surrogate or the Superior Court in the county where the testator or
testatrix resides at the time of death.

The executor, executrix, or personal representative is appointed by going
to the Surrogate Court with the original Will, certified death certificate, and
if the Will is not self-proven, at least one of the witnesses who signed the
Will must prove his or her signature on the Will.

If the Will, for any reason is not properly executed, the Surrogate's
court can advise the executor or personal representative as to the proper
procedure in order to allow the Will to be admitted to probate.

GUIDELINES FOR EXECUTOR/ADMINISTRATOR

If you have just probated a Will and have been named Executor, or if
you have qualified as Administrator for an estate with no Will, you may be
asking yourself the question, "What do | do next?" | am pleased to supply
you with some basic guidelines to assist you.

1. Notice of probate/Proof of Mailing must be served on all interested
parties within sixty days of probate, advising them of the name and
address of the Executor. A copy of the Will may accompany this
notice or a copy may be requested. If the Will contains any charitable
bequests, notice must also be given to the Attorney General of the
State of New Jersey, Division of Law, P.O. Box 112, Trenton, NJ
08625. You are to file personal service, or regular and certified mail.
The statutory filing fee is $5.00 per page.

2. The Administrator of an intestate estate (no Will) is obligated to notify
the Attorney General of the State of New Jersey, in the event that
there are no surviving heirs. In this case, the net proceeds of the estate
would escheat to the State of New Jersey.

3. The Executor/Administrator is responsible for determining and
marshaling all assets of the estate. An estate checking account is
opened from which bills are paid. It may be necessary to secure a
Federal ID number for the estate. You can call the IRS at
800-829-1040 for an ID number, or visit www.irs.gov.

4. The Executor/Administrator is responsible for all debts, last illness
expenses, inheritance and estate taxes, and administrative expenses
from the decedent's assets pursuant to NJSA 3B:22-2.

5. The Executor/Administrator is responsible for filing appropriate State and
Federal tax forms as applicable, and forwarding any tax payments due.
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10.

The Executor/Administrator is entitled to a commission of 5% of the
value of the gross estate for estates up to $200,000.00, 3.5% on the
excess over $200,000.00 up to $1,000,000.00 and 2% on the excess
over $1,000,000.00. Commissions in the amount of 6% may be taken
on all income of the estate.

The Executor/Administrator shall prepare an accounting of the estate
assets and disbursements and proposed distribution, which accounting
may be proved informally by each beneficiary/heir acknowledging his
approval of same. In the alternative, the Superior Court of New Jersey
approves a Formal Accounting. Filing fee for the Informal Accounting
is $5.00 per page.

The Executor has the obligation to distribute the net estate in a timely
manner, in accordance with the terms of the will. The Administrator
distributes in accordance with the intestate laws of the State of New
Jersey. A copy of the relevant New Jersey Statutes is available at the
Law Library, which is located on the second floor of the Middlesex
County Courthouse.

Prior to the distribution, each beneficiary shall execute a Refunding
Bond and Release if a surety bond was posted or at the executor’s
discretion. Upon receipt of the executed document, the Executor/
Administrator issues payment. The original refunding Bonds and
Releases are filed with the Surrogate. The filing fee is $10.00 for 1-2
pages. $5.00 each additional page.

Pursuantto NJSA2A:17-56.23b an executor oradministrator shallinitiate
a child support judgment search for ANY beneficiary who is receiving
$2,000 net proceeds (after court costs, attorney’s fees, medical costs,
etc.) or more from an estate.

A. The beneficiary shall provide the attorney, insurance company, or
agent responsible for the distribution of such funds with a certification
that includes: beneficiary’s full name, mailing address, date of birth,
and Social Security number.

B. The executor or administrator shall initiate a search of child support
judgments, through a private search company that maintainsinformation
on child support judgments, to determine if the beneficiary is a child
support judgment debtor. This search shall not exceed $10 per name
that is searched. This fee is chargeable against the net proceeds as
a cost of the inheritance.

. If the certification from the search company shows the beneficiary

is NOT a child support judgment debtor, the net proceeds may be
disbursed immediately.

. If the certification from the search company shows the beneficiary IS

a child support judgment debtor:
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